The ghost of September past

It’s so easy to fall out of the writing habit…all it takes is a bit of a chink in the ol’ routine. Which is exactly what these past 10 days that I’m trying to wrap here were :)

First off – Leonard Cohen in Bucharest. Surprisingly wonderful; I mean, I knew and loved his songs, but I never expected him to sing so much and to be such a presence on stage. Plus, he’s got a great band, and the Webb sisters singing “If it be your will” was an unforgettable moment. And I thought the public was good; from where I was standing if felt like a warm atmosphere (especially with the Happy Birthday and all).

Then, the road to Budapest. Which, in my not-so-well-thought out plan, passed through Targu Mures (there’s a plane from there), where I got to spend a few hours – starting with 6 am, when, I now know, it’s pitch back and freezing cold outside. And no bars/cafes/McDonalds are open either. But no matter, it was fun; I got to eat cabbage pie in the same place I ate 7 years ago. As weird as it may sound, I loved cabbage pie ;) and the teahouse where a nice lady gave us free tea samples and where I bought my first fortune cookie (apparently I am to make an important discovery and I’ll sure let you know when that happens :P ).

But off to Budapest, where I saw my very first (very first in what I am sure will be a long row) Coldplay concert. I’d like to say “amazing”, but it doesn’t cover it. Brilliant, emotional, dazzling, one of the best concerts I’ve ever been to….there are no words! The Hungarians are such a great audience, they (we) sang through every single song, Chris Martin was running all over the place, and all the guys were so involved with the public, so in sync…They are definitely a must see band. And I’m glad to see that capricornk felt the same way about the Viena gig ;)

Then came the shopping and home – the home where I used to live until 5 years ago, and where my folks still live. I hadn’t been there in quite a while, so it was great seeing my old house and town again (I don’t really say it, but I do love them in my own way :D ).

Oh, and speaking of shopping, I did go to the RedBus english bookstore (where the guy selling was listening to Editors, but couldn’t pronounce it so he to write it down when I asked :D)…where I was a bit disappointed. They have tons of (cheap) books and most of them are in good condition; but I didn’t find much that interested me. Maybe it was a fluke, I’ll go again next time I’m there, but I’ll keep my hopes in check ;) . I got Terry Pratchett’s Wryd Sisters (I’m slowly working my way through the Discworld), Alice Sebold’s The Lovely Bones (which I’m reading right now, so there might be a post about it soon), a book by P.G. Wodehouse, and an unofficial guide to The West Wing (which is silly, but I’m a fan :D ).

That’s it really, now I’m just catching up on all the work. No pictures in the post because I was just too lazy to take any. And I have a video from the Coldplay gig, but it’s a crappy quality and it it sends off  a “you had to be there” vibe ;)

~ by ameer on September 30, 2008.

6 Responses to “The ghost of September past”

  1. Chiar asteptam revenirea ta, mai ales cea de la Budapesta :)) Acum mi-e clar: Coldplay live nu te poate dezamagi niciunde!

  2. Sounds like so much fun! I’m really happy you had the opportunity to go to Budapest. It’s one of my favorite cities in the world. I really want to go to Coldplay too…

  3. I hatez you for zee Coldplay gig. :D

  4. Girls, you really should check out the next tour. Really really worth it ;)

  5. @ameer: bravo! bravo! sora-mea mi-a spus ca au plecat cu metroul de la concert din Budapesta si toata lumea in metrou canta ooo ooo o, stii tu:) si eu l-am pus pe lista, pe bune, voi merge la Coldplay de cate ori pot!

  6. @capricornk13: Daaaaaa, si io am fost in acelasi metrou. :D

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

