The one with the holiday

DSC02063

People have asked what impressed me the most in Paris and every time I was stumped. I honestly don’t know – and I just might as well say nothing. I like the old streets, the little restaurants on every corner (good food, too ;) ), I like the Seine, the large boulevards, the imposing buildings, I like the variety of ethnicities and beliefs, I like the gothic churches, I like museums and parks and reliable public transportation – but I still don’t know if I loved Paris. I must have liked it, but it felt crowded, chaotic, quite dirty and a little on the dangerous side (police chase after some guys twice; obnoxious pigeons all the time :D ). But there were moments when it was simply intoxicating – so I guess it might grow on me on a second visit – a longer visit. I’d like to walk the streets and explore…and mostly, I’d like to be less tired. In this week my friends and I tried to fit in as much of the touristy stuff as we could – and in the end, that kinda killed the joy of a new city.

A bunch of pics below – I can’t really take credit since most of them were taken by my friend ;)

Paris also meant my fourth Depeche Mode concert – and I certainly hope not my last, since they create something onstage that few others can match -at least as far as I am concerned. I can’t believe that it’s only been a week since I saw this, somehow it feels like a whole year has passed. Dave was full of energy, the crowd was responsive and the show was very well put together. The one thing that struck me as off key was Peace, they seem to be trying to make it a public favorite, but I don’t think it’s gonna work. It didn’t for me, anyways, but I was a bit biased – I think the song is catchy, but otherwise pretty bad: the lyrics are basic and the video projection during the concert feels like something out of the U2 trick box.

Back home – there was The Killers – and a much more energetic (and soaked) crowd than I would have imagined. That Brandon Flowers doesn’t have much of a voice, but he’s really working onstage and they put on a good show. I would have enjoyed it more if there hadn’t been water dripping out of my hair, but I think I made the best of the situation :D

In my bookworld nothing much has happened – just two reliably enjoyable holiday reads: Terry Pratchett’s Small Gods (which got me thinking a lot about Neil Gaiman’s American Gods and whether it wasn’t just a bit inspired by Pratchett) and also Mr. Gaiman’s Stardust (sometimes it’s good to go back to fairytales). Plus, I visited a second hand bookstore and left with a bunch of potentially great stuff: Zadie Smith, Jeffrey Eugenides, JM Coetzee, Paul Auster, John DosPassos.

All in all, this was my one week holiday; back into the real world my city has gone tropical on me (daily rains in the pm? what’s up with that?) and I am so much more tired than I was when I left.

~ by ameer on July 4, 2009.

6 Responses to “The one with the holiday”

  1. o la la!

  2. O la la in a good way? :D

  3. mais bien sur…

  4. tu me rends nostalgique… :)

  5. Let that be a lesson to you. Being too touristy in a new city isn’t too great. You have to slow down and enjoy the place.

    Sorry, I just couldn’t resist :)

  6. That’s ok, you do have a point :D

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

