I love a list

books.jpg

I love the “end of year ” lists. I grew up with MTV, so every December there were tops with the best/worst songs/artists/albums/videos of the year/decade etc, and I loved all that. I love that there’s some kind of order in these things… πŸ˜€ . So, when one of my favourite bloggers had her end-of-year list… i thought it’s be nice to have one of my own πŸ˜‰

First time reads of the year….which I’ll be coming back to: Haruki Murakami, Ian McEwan, Mario Vargas Llosa, George Orwell, Leonard Cohen, Kurt Vonnegut, Kiran Desai, Arundathi Roy….and Alan Alda (yeah, laugh all you want, but his autobiography is fun, entertaining, all in all a pleasant read…and the second installment of his bio is right there in my TBR pile πŸ˜‰ )

First time reads of the year…which will most likely be the first and last: Saul Bellow (I’ve read “Herzog” and it lost me midway through), Joseph Heller (reading “Catch-22” now, but it wouldn’t want to read the 30-years-later-sequel πŸ˜‰ ), Norman Mailer (“An American Dream” was my 2-week nightmare), Michel Houllebecq (pretentious, over stated, over publicised, fairly dull) and (though I read him last year) Nikos Kazantzakis (don’t even get me started on the torture that was “Zorba the Greek”…those 300-or-so pages seemed to last several lifetimes 😦 ).

Authors I’ll always return to: Salman Rushdie, Kazuo Ishiguro, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Martin Amis, JK Rowling, JRR Tolkien, Nick Hornby…and some others, whose names I can’t recall at this late hour :))

What’s new for 2008: Chuck Palahniuk (finally….), Gunter Grass, Paul Auster, Jose Luis Borges, J. Tanizaki, Neil Gaiman…and I’m always open to suggestions.

Well, this has been my 2007 in books…maybe I’ll do the same thing for movies later on πŸ˜‰ I’d try my hand in music, but I spent the entire year discovering Pulp, Suede and Muse…for months at a time this was all I listened to, so i might be a bit biased πŸ˜‰

~ by ameer on December 20, 2007.

4 Responses to “I love a list”

  1. cel mai mult mi-a placut ce-ai zis de houellebecq – total de acord.
    si multumesc

  2. Glad not to be alone on that πŸ˜‰ And thanks for dropping by πŸ˜€

  3. Pleeease..nu-l lasa pe Bellow deoparte πŸ™‚ Incearca mai intii “Darul lui Humbodlt”!! In contrapartida, promit sa mai fac si eu o incercare cu Desai :-))
    La Multi Ani!!

  4. O sa incerc si β€œDarul lui Humbodlt”… dar cred ca trebuie sa mai treaca putin timp, sa-mi revin πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

 
