Political TV

the-west-wing-cast-708368.jpgspincity.jpg

I think I’ve got quite the catchy title pinned down, but I’m afraid what follows will disappoint, since it’s got nothing to do with political influence over the TV programming, it’s got nothing to do with campaigning, with the alteration of the truth… it’s all about my holiday.

I wanted to write about the movie I saw last night (which was award season hopeful “Gone Baby Gone“, Ben Affleck’s directorial debut – and not a bad one, might I add) but I just didn’t find it in me. Today is the last day of my two week holiday, a holiday in which I’ve spent most of my time watching the tons of movies that I’ve gotten over the past two months – and the rest of the time shared between too-long family reunions, a too-short-once-a-year meeting with old highschool friends, and reading 100 pages of Catch-22 (don’t judge, when I’m done, I’ll blame the fact that I didn’t like it on the one month I’ve spent reading it πŸ˜‰ ).

So, what I’m gonna write about it 2 tv shows that I’ve watched lately: Spin City (it was on TV at one point, when I had just started highschool- so it’s pretty old) and West Wing (which has it’s finale 2 years ago and since then I’ve gotten all the episodes and now I can’t stop ).

SPIN CITY – sitcom about the less-than-able mayor of New York and his crazy crazy staff – with deputy mayor Mike (Michael J Fox) and then, as Fox leaves the show, Charlie (Charile Sheen), best friends – gay activist Carter and famed misoginist and all-around-filthy-mouth Stuart, idiotic press secretary Paul and …more. What’s not to love? Some of the gags are old, others are plain unfunny, the..evolution of TV since (after all it’s been 10 years) it’s obvious, but the characters are still fun and loving…and Michael J. Fox has charm to spare.

WEST WING – Aaron Sorkin’s political drama. Everyone knows about it, even if most people I know find it boring, even if I don’t understand all the abbreviations of all the US institutions and committees…but I’ve learnt quite a bit about the US system from it, and now I’m pretty hooked by the elections that will be held there this year. Right now I just finished watching the season 5 finale – with Donna in hospital, and the president in doubt over his reaction in Gaza. I think this show has proven to be relevant, and has comitted to showing that (fictional, at least) politicians aren’t all corrupt, that even grave mistakes can be made out of the best intentions, and that we shouldn’t be so quick to judge since we don’t know the innerworkings of a particular situation. Don’t get me wrong, I know how the world works and that a TV show is the last thing to point to a “right direction”, but a good TV show, a well documented and well acted one (such as WW) can still stir your curiosity over a number of real issues… something along the lines of “the more you know…the more you want to know” πŸ˜€

Reading back, I realise this is quite the pointless post, it’s more a justification and account of the past two weeks of splurging and indulging (but no more of that, work and school will all come together and ruin my next month). There’s a reward for everything, n’est pas? πŸ˜€

~ by ameer on January 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
