Britain’s best after 1945

type-385_261972a.jpg

As usual, Terorista has the scoop on the good stuff. And I’m terribly behind, since work and school are cramming to turn January, from a cold, icy and aloof month, into the breathing fires of hell. I realise I sound like a drama-queen (which I try never to be), but I’ve been back in business for 5 days and I already feel like my 2 weeks of R&R were a million-and-one years ago. Anyways, enough about me, I’m trying to keep the grunting to a necessary minimum😉

The Times, on account of lack of news in the new year I suppose, made up this list of “The 50 greatest British writers since 1945“. Their criteria include: “sheer quality of writing, longevity, lasting impact and, naturally, commercial success”, except that to me it looks a bit like they took turns in picking a name from a hat -but what the hell do I know ?😀 Thing is, if anyone had asked (and I’m glad they didn’t) I would have said that I’m most familiar with contemporary British lit. And, to my utter shame *crawling into a hole and staying there until this sentence will no longer be true* I have no idea who their no. 1 is. Philip Larkin?? Philip Larkin????? Philip Larkin over Geroge Orwell, over Salman Rushdie, over John Fowels? So I turn to my trusty advisor (Wikipedia, of course) only to find out that Mr. Larkin is a poet (and a really famous one, at that). Thing is, I never read poetry, so I think I have half -an-excuse…. However, as much fun as these lists are, I think I’m pretty fed up with them. There seems to be no point to them, except to start a conversation which can easily turn into a dispute whoever’s favorite writer’s biggest merit. It’s just all talk (for what else could it be?) that leads to nothing but even more talk. (And I do feel like a hypocrite as I’m writing thins, because I’m doing the exact same thing – talking about it)

Anyways, if anything, lists are good at helping you find new things – so, out of their 50, I’ve read about 11, and I have a few more on my TRB list…while about some I don’t know a thing. I’m on the lookout for recommendations – anyone? ;;)

~ by ameer on January 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
