Trout fishing in America

troutfishinginamericabrautigan.png

Nope, I didn’t get it. Not one, single thing. And you might say that lately I don’t get much, but if you have time, you should read it (it’s very short) and explain it to me. Please. Show me the protest against the American myth (aside from things like America is a place that exists only in your imagination and a couple of other similar ideas). Show me why “Trout fishing in America” is, in turn, the name of a person, a hotel, the act of fishing, another person (Trout fishing in America Shorty) in a series of stories that are loosely (if at all) connected, and that don’t even make sense in themselves. Why is trout a symbol? Why mayonnaise? Why not apple pie?  (apple pie seems to be very American in a lot of books). Why, why, why? It’s frustrating.

Then I start reading reviews and I see that I’m not the only one who didn’t get it. Maybe I should be American to get the full taste, maybe I should read more books of this kind, or maybe it’s just not supposed to make sense. Someone said that it’s a bit like poetry, but, even if I don’t like poetry, I still think it should leave me with a feeling, some sort of sensation, if not an image. But this is definitely not the case.

Maybe it’s a beatnik thing, I don’t know much about them, and I never cared to learn  more. It’s a gap in my education, but one can’t presume to know everything, and I’m simply not interested (yet).

So, where does this post lead? Nowhere. I don’t know what to make of this book, except that it’s a weird read and that I’m looking for a more competent person to explain it to me 🙂 All I was left with are the whys and the maybes.

 And, just so you don’t feel like you haven’t read anything interesting, here’s a couple of….factoids:

1. The guy on the cover is Mr. Brautigan – the first story in the book is dedicated to the cover 🙂

2. There’s a bad called Trout fishing in America. They’re a duo, from Arkansas, and they play mostly folk and children’s music. I wasn’t curious enough to listen to their music 😉

3. Apparently, Mr. Brautigan complained at one point, that he wasn’t able to capture the magic of trout fishing on paper. I can’t help wondering whether this is the said magic….

~ by ameer on January 24, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
