my Roman Holiday

I’m back – I have been back since Monday night πŸ™‚ from my long weekend in Rome. And, to be quite honest, what I am impressed with the most is that i can now afford to take a long weekend in a foreign country. I can (with barely any sacrifice) get on a plane and go. Just go. I sound like I’ve just stepped out of the stoneage, but this is quite a recently opened possibility to me, and I’m still in awe. In the end, Rome’s not all that impressive, and I have 2 big regrets: not visiting the Vatican museum (unexpectedly closed on Sunday and Monday Feb 11th) and not visiting the Colosseum (which was, to me, overwhelming). The rest…warm weather, dirty streets, a whole different sunlight, spring, public transportation, ruins, fountains, squares, parks, a lot of history, very nice people… and no foreign feeling. You know, how you look at someone from another country and you see it in the way they walk ,talk, dress or simply in the air around them, in their attitude that they have a whole different background and life…well, I didn’t get that feeling with the Italians. Personally, I don’t think it’s a good thing, but…

But, here are a bunch of pictures πŸ™‚

So, this is Piazza San Pietro: 039.jpg 568.jpg, this is the crowd on Via del Corso (fancy shops and what not): 070.jpg and this is a very nice sunset: 111.jpg. Michelangelo’s Pieta 775.jpg (here to prove that I didn’t just shop, but I also did touristy stuff πŸ˜€ ), The Colosseum 968.jpg (I am a walking-talking cliche, of course I was thinking of “Gladiator” and At my signal, unleash hell… :D) and Fontana di Trevi 676.jpg (beautiful, but way too crowded). Finally, there’s the orange tree 887.jpg and me & my friend 829.jpg πŸ™‚

And the bonus pic 1084.jpg – the Alps from the plane

~ by ameer on February 15, 2008.

2 Responses to “my Roman Holiday”

  1. I’m like totally PRO foreigners. When the guys stayed at my place I was fascinated by them and I still think about those days and say to myself: foreigners rule πŸ˜€

    So, I’m really sorry you didn’t enjoy the foreginer-feeling.

    The pics are great!

  2. Thanks πŸ˜‰ And yeah, foreigners totally rule πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

 
