Good Omens

good-omens-pb.jpg

Haven’t written about a book here in more than a week, and (as I learnt not to do at the training that I had to attend these past few days) I will put the blame on circumstances beyond my control, such as: I just didn’t feel like reading, I spent the weekend at a friend’s place, where it so happened we watched movies totally in sync with the book (ummm… Rosemary’s Baby and Angels in America πŸ˜› ), plus attending said training and going out every night. As you can see, totally beyond my control πŸ˜€ .

Still, I’m back, relaxed and happy for having had my introduction to both Mr. Gaiman and Mr. Pratchett at once. It seems like a very…in book, I read about it in 2 blogs I visit on a regular basis (Ionuca’s rainbowbooks and Books I done read) and I kinda agree with Ionuca – the book seems to lose ground after the first half, like the authors suddenly got bored; or maybe the banter between Aziraphale and Crowley (my two favorite characters) just happened to be the best part. I don’t know, but, still, wasn’t a waste of time, I had fun and even laughed out loud. It doesn’t happen often with a book, most of the times I just grin πŸ˜€

As far as storyline goes, it’s all about the end of the world (or ende off the worlde as Agnes Nutter might put it πŸ˜‰ ) and the war between Heaven and Hell, a war which (spoiler!! πŸ˜€ ) is won by humans, since the child of the devil (who was supposed to bring on the Apocalypse as soon as he turned 11) would rather do mischief in Lower Tadfield, GBR with his friends Pepper, Brian and Wensleydale than throughout the world, side-by-side with Pollution (a whiteish fellow), Death, Famine and War. But it’s all great fun when it involves an angel (Aziraphale) & a devil (Crowley – “an An Angel who did not so much fall as saunter vaguely downwards” – I love the characters’ descriptions πŸ˜‰ ) who are simply crazy about humanity and end up being something like friends in the 6000 years spent on earth, a witchfinder Private (Newt Pulsifer) and a witchfinder Sergeant, a woman called Anathema Device – descendant of the prophetess Agnes Nutter (whose nice and accurate prophecies are about to come true) and various other hilarious characters. And (how could I forget?) Dog (“Satanical hellhound and cat-worrier”).

So…that’s it, in a nutshell – because it’s midnight and I’m afraid I’ll fall asleep here – bad for the laptop πŸ˜€ . Entertaining & relaxing on the whole; and for part of it, it’s actually true what they say on the front cover: “Heaven to read, and you’ll laugh like hell” ;))

~ by ameer on March 11, 2008.

2 Responses to “Good Omens”

  1. So I see you haven’t read just Pratchett or just Gaiman yet. Maybe it’s better this way… this means they can really surprise you from now on πŸ™‚

    Lemme recommend Pyramids or Interesting times by Pratchett and Neverwhere by Gaiman.

    Read Pratchett and his Discworld books and then we’ll talk more about laughing out loud πŸ™‚

    PS. What about Sorin Stoica’s O limba comuna? Have you read it? If not, you can buy with 5 lei from Kilipirim. That’s another LOL book of mine πŸ™‚

  2. Uuuu, thanks for the suggestions. I’m going & I’m buying ;). I was acutally wondering where to start with Pratchett πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

 
