The papers over coffee

Since yesterday I didn’t have time to browse through the papers, I thought I’d catch up today – and share. And I read only 2 newspapers, so bare with my limitations ๐Ÿ˜‰

In The Guardian – a bit about a reader’s block that’s sweeping Britain for years and years. Basically, it’s just rationalising the guilt of not reading after you’ve spent tons of money on the books. I know, I’ve been there (my 4 years of high school were one big reader’s block ๐Ÿ˜€ )ย – it’s just that I didn’t have theย research to back me up.

Also in the Guardian, and amid all this Batman rage – a review that seems fairly minded. Plus, The Dark Knight’s instant rise to the no. 1 spot in the imdb.com top is also a big thing – but I guess it’ll blow over in a couple of weeks..and to think I was surprised when Iron Man came out and entered the Top 250 (and the highest place it got was 140something ๐Ÿ˜› ). But I’ll be seeing this Batman next week and, to be fair, I’m quite looking forward to it – although all this hype will ensure cinemas full of beeping cellphones and squeaking wrappers ๐Ÿ˜ . The XFiles movie is also coming out, but I really don’t care – I never watched the show and it’s too late to start now ๐Ÿ˜› Ian McKellen says The Hobbit will have a similar feel to LOTR – I say it’d better be that way, disappointed fans and bad reviews don’t bode well for box office success, especially when you’re turning a 300-page novel into 2 (two) movies…

Oh yeah – Barack Obama is all the rage in Europeย and, with the most prominent US journalists following him around, it makes the elections look like a one man race, a sure thing. Which, we should be reminded, it’s not ๐Ÿ˜€ John McCain, anyone?

Leaving politics aside – because I know nothing whatsoever about it, the PaperCuts blog has the list of Man Asia nominees…I haven’t heard of any and it’s very likely I’ll never get to read any – I just thought I’d mention it here ๐Ÿ˜‰ Plus, the chances of writing a NYT bestseller are pretty big…bigger than, say..dieing from a dog bite. Which is just good PR for dogs, really. And I know a lot of people have written about this one already, but I still like useless factoids.

Now the coffee’s done, the new season of Mad Men starts Sunday and I’m still on episode 7 of the first, it’s Friday, sunny, not too hot….it should be a fine fine day ๐Ÿ˜€

~ by ameer on July 25, 2008.

2 Responses to “The papers over coffee”

  1. 2 movies? that sounds…..comercial ๐Ÿ˜

  2. Yeah, I know, I was kinda put off by that too. Apparently one’s with the Hobbit and the other is supposed to fill the 60 year gap between The Hobbit and LOTR. So I expect the first to be good (not LOTR-good, but ok) and the second to be…let’s just say not so good. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

 
