As good a delineation as any other, I guess

year_1

Year one.

The title comes from a play I’ve listened to recently (for all the wrong reasons😛 )  – and I thought it fits with today. Or with 2 days ago, to be more precise – because 2 days ago my little blog had its first birthday😀 So…yaay me, I never thought I’d make it this long😛

The delineation in the play in the first snowfall of the winter – also appropriate since I’ve had my first snowfall last week: 60% bad (and 100% cold) weather in Berlin culminated with some serious snowing. And, whilst it was pretty seeing it from the window, I stayed home and watched Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog (for the umpteenth time) instead of going out that morning. Anyways, the guy in the play sort of evaluates the changes in his life from one snowfall to the other – and I pretty much tried to do the same: what has changed for me in this past blogging year? And sadly, I have to say, not much: minor job variations, some travelling, 55 books, a whole bunch of movies and TV shows watched, a few concerts…stuff like that, nothing major. But I have kept this blog going for a year which, for me, is a big deal (I get so lazy😀 ).

Berlin: great and helpful people (but is it me, or are they all pierced? Also, what’s up with the drinking on the street?😛 ), chocolate & beer, no crazy traffic jams, too much baroque, great public transportation system, chestnuts (soo good!), The Wall, parks, smokers outside restaurants, Starbucks on every corner – oh, and I got to touch a penguin😀 Pictures – here – I don’t feel like uploading.

Also, a bit of second hand book shopping – courtesy of www.bookstoreguide.org I went to a really nice bookshop – and splurged a bit. And it wasn’t just about how cheap (or how many & varied) the books were; I really liked the place: packed shelves up to the ceiling and ladders – all crammed in a tiny room. So, anyways, here’s the shopping list:

 David Mitchell – Cloud Atlas

Chuck Palahniuk – Diary

Neil Gaiman – Neverwhere (Also, i went to a comic book store – I’m not into comics, but still think that place was great – and saw the entire Sandman series. Unfortunately, “saw” wasn’t follwed by “bought”…but one day, I really will😀 )

Terry Pratchett – The Color of Magic

Ian McEwan – Amsterdam

Douglas Adams – The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

John Banville – Shroud

Michael Chabon – The Mysteries of Pittsburgh

Jonathan Safran Foer – Extremly loud & incredibly close

~ by ameer on November 25, 2008.

10 Responses to “As good a delineation as any other, I guess”

  1. hei, la multi ani!

  2. la multi ani! and no, not all of them are pierced🙂. cat despre bautul pe strada, asta a fost si pentru mine cel mai mare soc cand am sosit aici. da’ observ ca te-ai invartit foarte aproape de mine. ma bucur ca ti-a placut berlinul.

  3. La multi ani!

  4. Thanks, guys😉

  5. La multzi ani! nice post-it😀

  6. @ Dan: Thank you, sir😛

  7. Congrats!🙂

  8. La multi ani & enjoy the books you bought! Cloud Atlas e really very nice, de abia astept sa vad ce o sa scrii despre ea.

  9. la multi ani, la multi ani, la multi ani!
    imi pare tare rau de intarziere, insa n-am mai apucat sa intru pe bloguri aproape deloc in ultima vreme, nici pe al meu nu prea apuc:(
    dar iti urez un alt an de blog care sa-ti dea ceea ce-ti doresti tu de la el si in care sa ne bucuram si noi la fel de tare de ce scrii!

  10. Thanks you, thank you, thank you, guys!!!! >:D<

Leave a Reply

 
