Randomness is probably one of my favorite words

I’m probably going through one of those reader block things. It’s so convenient to have a fancy name instead of saying “I just don’t feel like picking up a book“. The last book I finished was Terry Pratchett’s Wyrd Sisters – and I was a bit disappointed. I mean – it’s the Pratchett brand alright, but things didn’t click (or spark?) as easily as they did in the other books I’ve read.  And now I’m slowly working my way through Margaret Atwood’s Blind Assassin  – for which there’ll be a post before December is over😀

But mostly, I’m just watching TV shows. It’s quite the engrossing activity – hours flying by with maximum entertainment and minimum brain stress. Not something to particularly brag about. Still, I sort of have a plan: on www.ew.com they always mention a bunch of TV shows that were cancelled way before their time and that now enjoy a “cult following” – and I’m trying to see what’s the deal with them. Starting with Firefly – Joss Whedon’s western sci-fi, where I’m at episode 11. The first episode was rather off putting, but it has grown on me since then😉 Next up there’s Wonderfalls – another Bryan Fuller creation – TV execs and US TV viewers really don’t like this guy: his 3 shows had about 15 eps each. Actually, Pushing Daisies, which has just been cancelled, had 26 eps, spread through 2 seasons. I’ve seen only the first episode of Wonderfalls, but I’m already sure I won’t be into it as much as I am into Daisies. And then  – Arrested Development and Freaks and Geeks. But I do hope I’ll be getting my reading mojo back until then😉

Aaaand links!!! Linking to other stuff always make me feel better about not writing anything of consequence😉

NYT’s list of 2008’s most notable books. I didn’t even go through the whole list, but I think it’s safe to say i haven’t crossed paths with any of them😛

Empire compiled a list of  The 100 Greatest Movie Characters. Ah, yes, the end-of-the-year-list-madness is in full blowing mode. But it was a fun list. And I was totally surprised (in a good way) but the choice for the no. 1 spot. On yahoo I accidentally stumbled on an article dissing the list – and adding some more names to it – and I bet there’s lots more such additions and subtractions out there – if you want to search😉

Good news for me – and other Dr. Horrible fans: the DVD is available on Amazon for pre-order (and right now it’s only 10$) – and the CD as well. And I can’t wait for Commentary. The Musical😉

LE: This is also pretty cool: the stories behind major Hollwood studio’s logos.

~ by ameer on December 6, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
