End of year stuff

My internet connection is acting up terribly, so it’ll just be one posting for today. And, of course, I’m going for the lists (which are, in fact, pretty irrelevant and surprisingly hard to make up).

So, there you go, the blog year in threes😉

Books:

Favorite discoveries: 1. Neil Gaiman

2. Jose Saramago

3. Paul Auster

*with a special mention for Jhumpa Lahiri and JM Coetzee

Best reads: 1. American Gods (Neil Gaiman)

2. Interpreter of maladies (Jhumpa Lahiri)

3. Ragtime (EL Doctorow)

Most disappointing reads: 1. The enchantress of Florence (Salman Rushdie)

2. The falls (JC Oates)

3. Lucky Jim (Kingsley Amis)

Movies: – now this is even tougher. Overall, this hasn’t been the best year for movies, or not just yet. I’ll do a separate posting on the subject once the Oscar nominations are announced – right now I’m trying to see the all the presumed nominees, but the most memorable movies of 2008 were the blockbusters: Iron Man, The Dark Knight and, with a special mention from me, the internet movie Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog (I just got the DVD and it’s, of course, horribly great😀 ). Which, I have to say, sucks and is a clear sign of how big expectations didn’t deliver (Burn After Reading, Blindness). But for me, 2008 is the year I started getting into the movies of the 30s, 40s and 50s, the year I stumbled upon film noir, Humphrey Bogart, Lauren Bacall, Billy Wilder, Hitchcook, Fritz Lang, Laurence Olivier, Howard Hawks, Cary Grant or Jimmy Stewart. So, that’s my best of list😛

Music: I’ve only been to 4 concerts this year, so there’s no need to make any tops. For sure, the best was Coldplay and the most surprisingly good was Kaiser Chiefs. Next year I have 2 Depeche Mode gigs lined up and I’m really looking forward to see what Bestfest will have to offer.

So, what will this year be remembered for? I can only guess…

1. US presidential elections

2. The recession

3. The Beijing Olympics

…and quite a few violent breakouts.

So, happy new year everyone. May it be a better one.

~ by ameer on December 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
