3-in-1. the holiday reads.

Just because there isn’t much to say about either. Also because I’m pretty anxious to see this week’s SNL (NPH hosting) and it’s not up on the internets yet so I have to do something to keep me busy. Battlestar Galactica – watch out, you’re next!😀

Anyways, back to them books.

Douglas Adams – The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. I’m not a scifi fan, in fact, I’m not sure I’ve ever read a whole scifi book (hmmm, does HG Wells’s Time Machine count? If it does, I have read a whole scifi book and it scared me to my very core. In my defense, I was 12😉 ). But this one was great. Really really great – and perfect for the uninitiated (like me). Not only was it crazy hilarious, but it made a lot of pop culture references a lot more clear (mostly harmless, paranoid android) and it was a perfect getaway. I’m seriously thinking of getting the other books in the series.

Graham Greene – The Tenth Man. Graham Greene being his usual self. The thing about his books is that, once you’ve read enough of them, they tend to…blend together. Somehow, I can never connect the title to the plot (except for The Power and the Glory which is, hands down, his best. At least as far as I’ve read) – which makes reading his books nothing more than a past-time. The Tenth Man is quite short, takes only a few hours to read and provides you with enough thrills to make a train ride pass quicker (or, in my case, a quiet Christmas morning). Other than that – entirely forgettable.

DBC Pierre – Vernon God Little . I read this in translation – which, I’m sure, diminished the fun of the wordplays (almost every other page there was a editor’s note explaining this or that wordplay that doesn’t have a Romanian correspondent) and maybe even took out the momentum of some scenes. But the point is the same –  a satirical look at America’s obsession with the media, with 24 hr reality show circus. Which is all very well, except that I’m getting a bit tired of it all. Of the reality show concept and of mocking it… Vernon Little is an average Texas teenager whose friend, Jesus Navarro, kills himself after shooting 16 of his classmates (of course, Columbine and, more recently, Virgina Tech). Being Jesus’s only friend, he is suspected and accused of complicity, risking death penalty. A self-absorbed mother, a so called journalist trying to squeeze the life out of anything with sensationalism potential, a Mexican truck driver, an abusive psychologist, a KFC-like fast food chain, nosy neighbours – are some of the characters we meet along the way. More like a dark comedy, this book won the Booker Award in 2003 against Monica Ali, Margaret Atwood, Damon Galgut, Zoe Heller and Clare Morrall. Personally, I can only assume it was a weak year, because this book, while it does describe realities we can’t escape now, is really not made to endure. Over me at least, it didn’t make much of an impression.

Also, yesterday I finally did a bit of bookshopping (at Anthony Frost – I still really love that place, I hope it never changes😉 ) and came back with 4 books (plus 3 that were on sale at Humanitas next door😉 )

Neil Gaiman – Fragile Things

Ayn Rand – The Fountainhead

Mark Haddon – The curious incident of the dog in the nighttime

Bohumil Hrabal – I served the king of England

Klaus Mann – Mephisto

Friedrich Durenmatt – Justiz

Carson McCullers – The member of the wedding

~ by ameer on January 11, 2009.

2 Responses to “3-in-1. the holiday reads.”

  1. Oh yeah, I’ve recently discovered Douglas Adams myself and I’m really into his books! I can hardly wait to have a bit of free time to read his other books as well🙂

  2. Glad I’m not the only one late to the party😉

Leave a Reply

 
