Dune – II

frank_herbert_dune

Finally, finally, I finished Dune. The whole trilogy. And it took me so long not because I found it boring (it wasn’t, not for one second) but because life sorta’ got in the way😉

I’m not going to say it’s one of the best books I’ve read – because it’s not, but I’m definitely going to say it’s one of the most captivating. I had a few notes on a pad when I finished Dune Messiah, but, after The Children of Dune they seem rather useless. Dune Messiah seemed more like a bridge – a world of conspiracy, plans in the dark and visions. The rise of an Empire causes unrest, and the once unifying force will be driven out – it’s the ebb and flow of life. Had I been younger, I would have been pretty upset by Muad’Dib’s death – but for that moment it felt right, just as his “resurrection” (well, he never died, so it’s not an actual resurrection) didn’t feel forced, but the next logical step. As far as the plot goes, the book is a bit predictable, but only because it follows a logical path. And I really appreciate that, most of the decisions taken, most of the turns of the tide have a reason behind them – a very rational trigger (except, maybe, for the religious mystique angle – that was a bit much for me). The Children of Dune was the fall of Paul’s empire, and the rise of another, more permanent and dominated by a much more powerful force. In the end, the game remains the same, even if the players and rules and slowly changing.

I’m miles away from doing justice to the book – but having spent so much time in its universe, I don’t really think I want to dwell on it any longer. It’s a story I wholeheartedly recommend – and that’s all I can do at 00.30 am.🙂

~ by ameer on August 31, 2009.

2 Responses to “Dune – II”

  1. You’re almost spot on about Dune Messiah,but the real purpose of most of the events have more meaning in books 4 and 5 than in book 3. The real main focus of the Dune Chronicles is not the Atreides, but the Bene Gesserit. They created the atmosphere into which Paul was thrust, hell, they created Paul, but the Bene Gesserit had no control over their own creations. This is reflected in Messiah, as Paul who can see and know all, also in fact has no real control, because he feared it. His people were blindly following him, but that was not the correct path for humanity, but he was to afraid to take the correct path. thats why his return as the preacher is so important. the people needed to think and rebel, to stop being stagnant. That is why the final books are so much better and tie in more. They can see what he did, but they still don’t know why, they hate him but also know he set them on an important path.

  2. Gee, Tommy, I really have to read those books again (starting with God-Emperor) – my memories are a bit different than what you say over there…

Leave a Reply

 
