Up above the world

paul_bowles_up_above_the_world

I hadn’t know that today Freddie Mercury would have been 63 – I only realized when I saw Cinabru’s post (thanks for the reminder and the vids, btw🙂 ). And doing the math, it strikes me how young he died – only 45. My mother was [still is] a very big fan, and I actually remember the day he died, because it was the first time I saw her cry. I was 6, and until then, I had thought crying was something reserved only to me😀

Anyways, I want to post a song too, not one of their greatest, but one that, somehow, left a very deep mark on me (probably because I’ve somehow known it all my life)

I know I’m mixing things here, but I actually had planned to write about the book in the title. Except that I’ve pretty much lost my drive, especially since I didn’t have much to say in the first place. It’s a short and completely unmemorable book – and you might as well check out the plot on wikipedia. It’s...noirish, and maybe at the hands of a good director (and writer) it could end up a decent film. But, as it is, I was not in the least impressed. And to top it all, I went from reading a book in English to reading a Romanian translation of an English book, and I was quite bothered by the fact that I could see through the translation (and I think there’s an actual mistake in the second sentence). I guess I’m nitpicking here, but, in all honesty, I’m glad I bought the book on sale, and I wouldn’t go around recommending it😀

~ by ameer on September 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
