Post-Emmy post

Sure, awards usually are irrelevant (these more than the Oscars) and self congratulatory (again, probably more than the Oscars) – but this is Hollywood, capital of fun, fancy and let’s pretend as the host so nicely put it:D And since I like lists (as I must have mentioned several times before – but I will resist the temptation of making a list of the times I’ve said I like lists😉 ) – I wanted to have a quick the good, the bad (& the ugly too, if you look at some of the dresses 😀 ) moment.

The good

NPH as a host – mostly. The 2 clips I’ve found so far range from funny (though slightly desperate – something grossly underlined by many of the award introductions) to absolutely hilarious (especially for the Dr. Horrible crowd). The bit on the shortening opening themes was high up there too – but it’s a trend I generally approve of😀 On the downside, the boring “best seat” jokes & the set introduction.

John Hodgman as announcer. Liked him on Daily Show, liked him now too. Plus, the idea to introduce presenters with obscure and/or embarrassing career references (how else would anyone know Hot Shots was a backdoor pilot for Two and a half men😛 ).

The best writing nominee presentation

Michael Emerson finally winning. Ben has to be the  most interesting character on Lost – and that owes a lot to Emerson.

Kristin Chenoweth for Pushing Daisies – she’s the first winner I’ve ever seen looking genuinely caught off guard. Also serving as a reminder that the show was brutally canceled.

The Daily Show for Variety …. Not a surprise, but still good😀 Next year I’ll be rooting for Colbert. Them taking turns seems like a good idea at this point. Although I did find new appreciation for Bill Maher when I saw Religulous.

The bad

Jon Cryer winning best supporting actor for Two and a half men (over NPH’s Barney Stinson, I might add…). Seriously? Have they watched the last season? Because I unfortunately have and it’s definitely no winner.

Toni Collette winning for United States of Tara. I thought this show was a pretty bad idea from the start, and the bit I’ve seen didn’t change my mind. So, once again…seriously?

Jim Parson losing. Expected, but still bad. Sheldon had a great run this year, and he submitted what was probably the best episode of the whole show: The bath item gift hypothesis.

Oh, and what was up with all the glasses? Make the fonts bigger, dudes!😀

At the end of the day, I don’t know if it’s the cold pills I’ve been stuffing myself with talking or not, but I’ve had fun watching it (and skipping quite a few parts too😀 ).

~ by ameer on September 21, 2009.

One Response to “Post-Emmy post”

  1. I was pretty bummed about Generation Kill not winning in the miniseries category😦

Leave a Reply

 
