A study in scarlet

conan_doyle_study_in_scarlet

Being spurred on by the movie coming out this December (which I’m still really anxious for, despite the awful tagline) and by the fact that the book was on sale – I had my first literary encounter with Mr. Holmes. Sherlock Holmes. And it was quite fun – up to a point at least 🙂

A study in scarlet is the first novel to feature Sherlock & Mr. Watson, and I really enjoyed getting first hand character descriptions. The detective is not at all like I imagined – I think I saw him as a bit of a gruff Poirot, but I liked his hands-on approach and his scientific background. Of course, just like Poirot, he’s all too conceited and impressed with himself, but at least it’s for good reason.

So after reading about 30 pages in the morning on my way to work, I couldn’t wait to get back home and see what happens next. However, I was pretty disappointed by the long backstory dedicated to our murderer and his motives – the wild west setting, the evil Mormons plot (with a special appearance by real life prominent Mormon Brigham Young) – it was all fairly dull and slightly sappy. Plus, Mr. Holmes makes things sound a bit too easy – I’d like to read more with him struggling harder to crack a case; so if anyone can promise me no more wild west stories, I’d give Sir Doyle another go 😉

And speaking of sirs, I’ve seen a pretty funny interview with Salman Rushdie in Craig Ferguson’s show – plus, he talks a bit about his impending visit here (and Dracula’s castle, of course) 😀

~ by ameer on October 28, 2009.

2 Responses to “A study in scarlet”

  1. Hi,

    My name is Dena Schaffer and I’m the founder of Opening Windows: Virtual Book Tours. Opening Windows is very excited to announce that this November it will be launching the “Dear Coach: Letters Home from WWII” virtual book tour!

    Authored by Lois Herr, “Dear Coach” is the story of Elizabethtown College’s, legendary coach Ira Herr, and the men and women athletes of 1937-1946. More than just a collection of letters “Dear Coach” is the scrapbook of an extended family dealing with a war that forced a generation to grow up overnight.

    Congratulations! Opening Windows has hand-picked your website as a potential host for one of the “Dear Coach” VBT’s stops. If you’re interested in becoming a tour stop host please let us know! We’re eager to team up with your blog in creating a following for this heartfelt book.

    Dena Schaffer

    Opening Windows: Virtual Book Tours
    http://www.OpeningWindowsVBT.com
    DenaSchaffer@OpeningWindowsVBT.com

    P.S. If for some reason you’re not interested in being a host but would still like to follow “Dear Coach: Letters Home from WWII” on its virtual journey feel free to stop by the official tour blog! (http://dearcoachlettershome.blogspot.com/)

  2. Ah, Rushdie si Ferguson ce-am mai ras!

Leave a Reply

 
