Year 2 – complete. Neverwhere.

It’s that time of the year when spirits are running rather too high for my comfort – the elections. But, because I’m not heavily invested in either side, I can celebrate the fact that my little blog just turned 2. ‘course I didn’t think it would make it this far, but I’m glad it did so I plan to keep it going. For a while at least, until my laziness gets the better of me šŸ˜€

It’s only fitting that on an anniversary I get to write about an author I love. No, not Salman R. this time, but Neil Gaiman (wouldn’t it be great if he came around here? I bet he’d be tons of fun šŸ˜€ ) and Neverwhere. Before anything else though, I think I’m really in love with the title. There’sĀ  magic in it, it’s not nowhere, it’s neverwhere, an incantation to transport you. That’s why I don’t particularly like the translation (nicaieri) – it doesn’t convey the same feeling of wonder.

Richard Mayhew is a regular guy, with a 9 to 5 job, a demanding girlfriend and a rather submissive demeanor. One day, a hurt girl appears right in front of him and he chooses to care for her, instead of following his girlfriend to a very important business dinner. From then on, he becomes part of the London Below, a place of mythical creatures, angels, powerful rats and their human servants – the rat speakers. Plus 2 criminal yet well spoken thugs – Mr Croup and Mr Vandemar, Door, the eldest daughter of Lord Portico (part of a family who possessed the ability to open pretty much anything) a Marquis and an Earl. In this London Below are all the people who have fallen through the cracks, people for whom time, the world, its dangers and its stakes are not the same as in London Above. And I love how Mr. Gaiman gives new meanings (or literal meanings) to things part of the everyday existence (the tube stations – Blackfriars, Earl’s Court, the floating markets held in Harrods or Belfast Tower etc) – the whole affair vaguely reminded me of Harry Potter.

It’s great fun, this book, and I had no idea it was written as a companion to the TV series (I actually thought it was the other way around). A while ago I tried watching it, but I honestly have to say I didn’t go through the whole show because it looked pretty bad…so I might hold out for the movie, if it ever gets done.

~ by ameer on November 23, 2009.

3 Responses to “Year 2 – complete. Neverwhere.”

  1. Neverwhere was my second Gaiman book, but because the first one was the Romanian translation of Stardust, I consider this to be my first Gaiman ;)) [read it in English, thank God!]

    Actually, yesterday I thought of how much I love Gaiman’s books and that I should buy and read each and every one of them šŸ™‚

  2. šŸ˜€ I’m already on the way to buying each and every one. And this Christmas, I’m gonna make myself a nice little present – the first of the Sandman comics. They’re worth checking out even if you’re not into the genre. šŸ˜‰

  3. I really enjoyed reading this blogpost, keep on making such exciting posts.

Leave a Reply

 
