Berlin Noir – The pale criminal. Plus – Bookfest

Another detective story with Bernie Gunther – perfect for a plane read. It takes place in Berlin (I know, way to state the obvious😛 ) in 1938, when Bernie has to return to Kripo to investigate on the serial murder of  five German teenagers – all girls, all racially pure – and what follows is a deep dive in behind the scenes conspiracies involving real and made up characters, all aiming towards the eliminations of Jews. The investigation is quite gripping and it leaves Gunther to face off with some of Nazi Germany’s most famous political figures. It’s also a (well researched) look into the everyday lives of Berliners during a time of moral ambiguity and confusion and Bernie, like everyone else, is forced to see the annihilation of a way of life which used to include things such as justice. The only thing he (and most others) is capable of doing is waxing philosophically on the end of the world.

I’m looking forward to vol. III being on sale😉

Bookfest – not much to say here. The little shopping I did you can see in the picture (yeah, being broke sucks) and the atmosphere was nothing to get me excited. In fact, I remember how much I was into these things when I first moved here – now I’m only going because my friends are. I can find the same deals in bookstores, I can order pretty much anything online and I’m not interested in book launches or local pseudo-celebrities (not talking about the writers here). I don’t read contemporary Romanian literature – I honestly don’t know why; I keep saying I’ll try, but it just doesn’t appeal to me (much like the movies) so I’m starting to think there’s less and less a reason for me to bother going to these things (although, truth be told, I do end up buying stuff I wouldn’t otherwise have looked at, so maybe some good can  still come of this😀 )

<— Bonus picture – something I really miss seeing😉

~ by ameer on June 13, 2010.

11 Responses to “Berlin Noir – The pale criminal. Plus – Bookfest”

  1. mm, cortazar🙂

    nici eu nu citesc din literatura ‘noastra’, ma indoiesc ca pierdem mare lucru.

    also, ce-i cu antologia aia?

    • hmm…inca nu stiu. Am citit Granta cu young British authors si a fost interesant – am mai descoperit pe cate cineva (Monica Ali, David Mitchell, Zadie Smith, Robert McLiam Wilson) si m’am prins cam pe cine sa evit (Sarah Waters). Deci sper la ceva similar de la antologia cu americani. If it helps, printre autori sunt…cam putini de care sa fi auzit eu (Safran Foer, Uzodinma Iweala, Nicole Krauss, Olga Grushin) si multi care nu imi spun deocamdata absolut nimic (Daniel Alarcon, Kevin Brockmeier, Christopher Coake, Dara Horn, Jess Row, John Wray etc). I’ll write about it someday though😀

    • hihi, postul e din 2008, sper ca scap de embarrassing moment in felul asta (daca era din ultimul an probabil trebuia sa-mi fie rusine)

      apropo, ai citit cumva de atunci ceva de zadie smith? sunt curios daca recomanda cineva white teeth (era la oferta la leda books)

  2. err, nu stiu inca🙂

    poate o iau daca mai dau o tura pe la humanitas si nu gasesc altceva care sa ma atraga

  3. uu..rly?😀

Leave a Reply

 
