The obligatory Emmy post

I’ve been doing this for the last couple of years, so I figured I’d do it again, even if my enthusiasm for this sort of thing is waning rapidly. So…let’s get to the point😀

         LE: I’m adding a bunch of post-awards edits, because it’s Monday morning and I’ve nothing better to do.

Comedy Series

Curb Your Enthusiasm” (2000)

Glee” (2009)

Modern Family” (2009)

Nurse Jackie” (2009)

The Office” (2005)

30 Rock” (2006)

This is where I simply root for Modern Family. Haven’t really followed any of the others – half season for The Office, one episode for Glee and nothing whatsoever of the other three – but I really believe MF is the funniest thing out there.

Who will win: CYE and the Seinfeld reunion just might have enough power to dethrone 30 Rock – although you know what they say – out of sight, out of mind. And CYE was on a long time ago. And then – there’s a lot love for Glee out there (although I could not explain why – it’s just some kids doing covers basically. But I somehow think it appeals to the American Idol crowd) so…all bets are off.

Snubs you say? The big bang theory, Community and Better off Ted– as far as I’m concerned (one of them at least could easily have bumped off The Office).

LE: Hey – I did get it right, and for once, the most deserving (out of those nominated) did win. Actually, there was a bit of that going around – this year the Emmys weren’t as entrenched in the old ways as before. Modern Family ftw😀

Lead Actor in a Comedy Series

Alec Baldwin for “30 Rock” (2006)

Steve Carell for “The Office” (2005)

Larry David for “Curb Your Enthusiasm” (2000)

Matthew Morrison for “Glee” (2009)

Jim Parsons for “The Big Bang Theory” (2007)

Tony Shalhoub for “Monk” (2002)

Will Alec Baldwin win again? I really couldn’t say – I don’t watch his show😀. I’d like to see Parsons take this one home; the guy is rightfully the breakout star of TBBT so he should have something to show for it. Unless the Emmy people want to make him wait it out until the show’s in its 8th season and has completely lost its edge (it’s a Chuck Lorre show – it will eventually go down the Two and a half men road) – and only then give it to him. Seems like a requirement – otherwise how can anyone explain Tony Shalhoub’s nomination?  And speaking of waiting it out – Steve Carell’s always-a-bridesmaid-never-a-bride act at the Emmys, coupled with the fact that next season will be his last (or so he says now) just might be enough to make him a winner. 

Snubs? Oh, I know – maybe Joel McHale? Or Adam Scott? Or even more – Jay Harrington (Verizon, how I miss you…)? Oh, who am I kidding, two of them were in cancelled series that probably Emmy voters didn’t even take the time to watch. But at least we didn’t get Charlie Sheen again.

LE: It’s Jim Parsons, baby! As it should be. I’ll put this under “I was right”, even if I didn’t exactly make a prediction.

Lead Actress in a Comedy Series

Toni Collette for “United States of Tara” (2009)

Edie Falco for “Nurse Jackie” (2009)

Tina Fey for “30 Rock” (2006)

Julia Louis-Dreyfus for “The New Adventures of Old Christine” (2006)

Lea Michele for “Glee” (2009)

Amy Poehler for “Parks and Recreation” (2009)

For once, I’ve nothing to say. My bet’s on Edie Falco – Emmy people sure do love her.

LE: Right again – only goes to show that inertia shouldn’t really be taken out of consideration. I’m still not gonna watch her show though.

Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Ty Burrell for “Modern Family” (2009)

Chris Colfer for “Glee” (2009)

Jon Cryer for “Two and a Half Men” (2003)

Jesse Tyler Ferguson for “Modern Family” (2009)

Neil Patrick Harris for “How I Met Your Mother” (2005)

Eric Stonestreet for “Modern Family” (2009)

I’m not sure the avalanche of Modern Family nominees will work for or against any of them. And I’m not sure it was fair leaving out Ed O’Neil, his performance in MF did the unthinkable – it completely erased Al Bundy from my mind. I’m listing Danny Pudi as a snub too, just to go along with the whole Community thing I have going on. But, in all fairness, I see him tied to Donald Glover (it’s always Troy & Abed) so it’s kinda hard to judge him on his own merits.

As for the winner…hard to say. Any of the Modern Family cast would make me happy, as would NPH (though not for the mediocre-at-best last season), but I definitely don’t want to see a repeat win for Jon Cryer. He may be funny, but his show sucks and the Emmy guys should start noticing that, too.

LE: Eric Stonestreeet – wow. Out of the 3 MF nominees, he would have been the last on my list of possible wins. But when the Emmys embrace a show…they really embrace it. I guess we should expect more and more nominations from now on.

Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

Julie Bowen for “Modern Family” (2009)

Jane Krakowski for “30 Rock” (2006)

Jane Lynch for “Glee” (2009)

Holland Taylor for “Two and a Half Men” (2003)

Sofía Vergara for “Modern Family” (2009)

Kristen Wiig for “Saturday Night Live” (1975)

Again, more love for Modern Family – it looks like it’s the new Emmy pet. Jane Lynch is a lock here however – everyone says so, and who am I to disagree? And she’s one funny lady (I’ve seen her in a bunch of movies + Party Down) so I won’t hold a grudge. But I would like to see Sofia Vergara win – comedic timing such as that (and in a foreign language) should not go unnoticed.

LE: Jane Lynch. Of course.

Drama Series

Breaking Bad” (2008)

Dexter” (2006)

The Good Wife” (2009)

Lost” (2004)

Mad Men” (2007)

True Blood” (2008)

This has to go to Breaking Bad. And it will go to Breaking Bad, unless the nostalgia factor kicks in a people want to reward an undeserving Lost just because it’s the last we’ll see of it. And you can never rule out Mad Men – which truly had a great season (if I remember well – it kinda was a long time ago😉 ).

No snubs I can think of, not even House (which, let’s be honest, didn’t have its best season this year) – although I’ve heard lots of critics bemoaning the general snubbing of Sons of anarchy (which I haven’t seen – not my niche). But I would have a general comment: what the hell is True Blood doing here? Vampire soap for best drama? Seriously? The Wire never even got nominated and True Blood has a go? I know, I know, awards don’t mean shit, but it’s just so appalling – do these people even watch TV? (I do like their promo posters though😀 )

LE: Yeah…Mad Men got it. I think (but I’m too lazy to check)  they took it home too last year. I’m kinda sorry for BB, although it did make it big in the acting categories. But hey -at least it wasn’t Lost. That’s enough of a win😉

Lead Actor in a Drama Series

Kyle Chandler for “Friday Night Lights” (2006)

Bryan Cranston for “Breaking Bad” (2008)

Matthew Fox for “Lost” (2004)

Michael C. Hall for “Dexter” (2006)

Jon Hamm for “Mad Men” (2007)

Hugh Laurie for “House M.D.” (2004)

Last year’s winner Bryan Cranston proved himself yet again this year – so I’d think he’s a lock on the win. In my subjective little heart though, I’d like to see Hugh Laurie win, not for season 6 (or for Emmy bait episode Broken) but for the entire run of House. This show would be nothing without the man (and his slightly scaled back role in a weaker season 6 proves just that) – so I’m hoping that at least the overdue factor will work in his favor. Kyle Chandler’s nomination was applauded (I don’t watch Friday night lights so I have nothing to say) and Jon Hamm is a consistent performer, so the biggest upset would, I think, be a Matthew Fox win – because it’d only be fueled by Lost nostalgia. And let’s be honest here – Lost was always more about the story than the acting.

LE: Right again – Bryan Cranston won. Deservedly. Though I’m pretty sorry about Hugh Laurie – before the end of House he should at least get one of these.

Lead Actress in a Drama Series

Connie Britton for “Friday Night Lights” (2006)

Glenn Close for “Damages” (2007)

Mariska Hargitay for “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit” (1999)

January Jones for “Mad Men” (2007)

Julianna Margulies for “The Good Wife” (2009)

Kyra Sedgwick for “The Closer” (2005)

I’m out of my league here. I’d go for January Jones – but hers is the only show I watch, so it’s a bit unfair. But hey, at least they left Sally Field off the ballot – enough is enough.

Snubs though? I’ve got one: Anna Gunn. And if you’re watching Breaking Bad you should know why she deserved a nomination at least – Skylar really stepped up this season.  

LE: Kyra Sedgwick. Meh.

Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

Andre Braugher for “Men of a Certain Age” (2009)

Michael Emerson for “Lost” (2004)

Terry O’Quinn for “Lost” (2004)

Aaron Paul for “Breaking Bad” (2008)

Martin Short for “Damages” (2007)

John Slattery for “Mad Men” (2007)

This has to be Aaron Paul’s year – Lost love will be split between O’Quinn and last year winner Emerson, Andre Braugher is well-loved but his show is not particularly popular (no idea how good it actually is, but I’m considering giving it a shot) and John Slattery’s role doesn’t provide him with much wiggle room except drunkenness (and blackface, apparently).  I would have liked to see Robert Sean Leonard nominated – but, if he didn’t get it with season 4, there was no way to get it now, not with this kind of competition. Should be fun to see next year what happens to Lost’s slots😉

LE: Aaron Paul it was. Finally.

Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

Christine Baranski for “The Good Wife” (2009)

Rose Byrne for “Damages” (2007)

Sharon Gless for “Burn Notice” (2007)

Christina Hendricks for “Mad Men” (2007)

Elisabeth Moss for “Mad Men” (2007)

Archie Panjabi for “The Good Wife” (2009)

Ladies & drama – as I’ve said before, I’m of no use here. It’s funny how I don’t watch shows with supposedly strong female casts. But, of what I know, I’d go for Elizabeth Moss. Last year’s winner is not back, so she has as good a chance as any. I am surprised though at the complete lack of Grey’s Anatomy familiar faces – mostly because, no matter how downhill it was all going, Sandra Oh and Chandra Wilson were always reliable reasons to tune in. Lisa Edelstein of House may have deserved a nomination at some point – and this year, with an entire episode dedicated to her character, she could have been close to it (had the writing managed to provide some sort of depth and not just financial shenanigans with no real stake).

LE: Archie Panjabi. Again,meh (since I don’t watch her show, seems an appropriate enough response😀 ). No acting love for Mad Men – I’m not sure how to take this: they win best drama, but no acting awards, while those who win several acting awards (looking at you, Breaking Bad) don’t win best drama. Aren’t those at least a leeeeetle bit connected?😉

Variety, Music Or Comedy Series

“The Colbert Report” (2005)

“The Daily Show with Jon Stewart” (1996)

“Real Time with Bill Maher” (2003)

“Saturday Night Live” (1975)

“The Tonight Show with Conan O’Brien” (2009)

Colbert vs. Stewart. vs. Conan – this should make for some funny post-award bits. Other than that, I really cannot decide on a favorite between Daily show and The Report. Last year Stewart won, so, in the interest of universal balance, let’s give Colbert a change this time around, shall we?😉

LE: Daily show!!! But the Colbert team won at the Creative Emmys for writing, so there is some sort of balance in the universe after all.

The writing awards will probably go to 30 Rock and Man Men (I favour Shut The Door. Have A Seat of the 2 nominations). And that’s that – we’ll see on Aug 29th what will come out of all this.

LE: Modern Family and Man Men took the writing awards. Fitting, I would say.

~ by ameer on July 28, 2010.

5 Responses to “The obligatory Emmy post”

  1. Ce vreau eu: Glee, Jim Parsons, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Ty Burrell (mai mult pentru Back To You), Jane Lynch (Boston Legal, Glee, Party Down, e incredibila peste tot!), Mad Men (BB prea tragic, Dexter prea prost, TGW prea meh, Lost prea obosit, True Blood prea tampit, uita-te la SoA, vorbesc hiperbolic de el de mai bine de un an!), Laurie, Mariska Hargitay (dupa 11 ani, rolul ei consacrat), John Slattery (hilarious), Elisabeth Moss (“I’m Peggy Olson and I want to smoke some marijuana” !!!), “The Colbert Report”.

    Eu prefer Colbert ca e satira pura, Daily Show tinde sa fie preachy, Colbert e doar dement :>

    • Ha.I knew I wasn’t crazy – Dexter does kinda suck😀 Am incercat sa ma uit acu’ cateva saptamani, si nu am reusit sa trec de episodul 2…si tot incerc sa imi explic ce vad altii la el.
      Dar Glee – really? With the singing & the dancing and the highschool kids?
      O sa incerc si SoA daca zici ca merita. Dupa Wire – pe care inca nu l’am terminat, I’m trying to make it last as long as possible.

  2. Bre, ai inteles gresit. Dexter e genial, dar sezonul patru a supt major. Eu ma vad pe mine in Dexter, sau cel putin asta vedeam la inceput ca pe parcurs s-a indepartat notabil de asta si nu in bine. Sezonul 4 in general si finalul in special au fost oribile, nici nu mai incep s5.

    Glee: da, copiii, coverurile la soundtrackuri pierdute din anii ’80, sarcasmul, povestile ridicole. Poate ca nu-ti place, dar cand ajungi ca mine si stii pe de rost aproape intreg canonul Hammer Horror, Clint Eastwood si Shaw Brothers din anii ’70, ei bine, mai e nevoie si de ceva lejer, ridicol, in care poti rade in voie fara sa devii un imbecil (cum s-ar intampla la 2.5 Men sau mai stiu eu ce).

    Da, SoA chiar merita, la mine a intrat in best-of-2009.

    • damn, cautam aliati ptr Dexter. sau anti Dexter. Everyone loves it si nu ma prind de ce. Ma simt putin ca Joey cand se prinde de un banc dupa 10 min😛 Also…you’re a screwed up serial killer inside, hmm?😀
      La Glee – macar pot sa dau vina pe faptul ca musicals were never my thing.

  3. Musicals arent my thing either, but when you do Journey’s Don’t Stop Believing and then Bell Biv DeVoe’s Poison, well… hook, line, sinker. You got me.

    Yes, as marines love to say i’m reasonably sure i’m fucked up beyond all repair. The grad paper on Ted Bundy came as no surprise to anyone (still) with a pulse😀

Leave a Reply

 
