Bratislava. mostly

I was watching Grey’s Anatomy tonight (yes, I still watch it) and at the end of episode 20 they played The National’s Sorrow  – which I absolutely adore – and somehow it got me thinking about the blog. I haven’t been writing much lately because I haven’t been reading much…and if I were to write something, it would probably be personal stuff, and who cares about that? But I’ll try to filter it out a bit at least.

I’ve spent the better part of April in Bratislava (first 3 weeks actually) and it was…good – good enough that not being there anymore gets me quite sad. Bratislava isn’t exactly the touristiest city – you can pretty much get through it in one day – but it’s pleasantly not-crowded (unless you run into a group of tourists :D). The old city center is nice –castle on a hill, old narrow streets, over priced souvenir shops, old churches…but I liked Prague better😉. I also got a chance to see Brno in this little trip (same type of architecture, unsurprisingly) and Vienna – but I took very few pictures. For the most part I didn’t feel like a tourist, I even worked for 2 weeks, so I guess I got to experience a bit of what the day to day life of an immigrant in Slovakia is. And I have to say, from this point of view – Slovakia is not the friendliest country: the language poses a great barrier to anyone who doesn’t speak it and the residents don’t seem all that eager to chat in English (and some places don’t even have an English menu, which can leave you kinda hungry). Oh, and crappy weather: wind, snow, rain…and then some more wind – but that’s neither here nor there. I’m not really in the mood to play tour guide, so I’ll just post a bunch of pictures🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As far as the reading goes – I got through Mickey Spillane’s My gun is quick, which is classic noir, fun, yet terribly predictable, so I don’t actually have enough for an entire post about it. It’s part of an omnibus of 3 novels – so more to come in the future.

~ by ameer on April 28, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
